Fly Over Country: First you cry…

Then you scream.  Then it’s time to tell yourself to get over it and get on with it.  What that “it” is is totally up to you.  In my case it’s to go back to blogging about where I live, the middle of the middle of the USA and what goes on here, there and everywhere.  Why would I do this?  Because we, the folks in the middle, are being blamed for the rise and election of Donald Trump.  I’m sure some of the people in the area, it is quite big, did vote for him.  What bothers me and others like me is Why they voted for him.  The most common thread spoken throughout the campaign was “He says what I’m feeling.”.  This came as a great shock to much of the nation as most whites on the coasts thought we were “past it” or “post-racial” or something.  Around here, not so much.  Between living day to day in one of the most racists places in America and living through the Ferguson uprising, I can categorically say, we Knew most pale people weren’t past much of anything.  If you care to, you are more than welcome to read through the “Ferguson Files” portion of this blog which is my experiences as a Legal Observer during the uprising and its’ aftermath.

This came as a great shock to much of the nation as most whites on the coasts thought we were “past it” or “post-racial” or something.  Around here, not so much.  Between living day to day in one of the most racists places in America and living through the Ferguson uprising, I can categorically say, we Knew most pale people weren’t past much of anything.  If you care to, you are more than welcome to read through the “Ferguson Files” portion of this blog which is my experiences as a Legal Observer during the uprising and its’ aftermath.

For me and mine, the battle goes on.  Yes, we took a bit of a breather. You tend to need one after a beating like we took.  But, we are like the old Timex’ “we take a licking and keep on ticking”.  We will be standing up for human rights and humane laws in order than the painfully paid for gains of the last 50 years are not lost at the whim of a game show host surrounded by conspiritarians and sycophants.

Tonight in St. Louis there was a memorial service for the homeless that died this past year, a vigil for the victims of Aleppo and a house set on fire the day after a young Muslim bought it. So you see, we’ll get all sides here and I’ll do my best to wade through the dross and give you the story the best I can.  Please rejoin me on my journey from the Middle of Middle America, and let me know what you think and how you feel about what I write.

Happy Whichever Winter Holiday you Choose!

 

Leave a Reply

